Jul 15, 2018

Scott Speed takes home victory at the series' inaugural domestic race while Tanner Foust battles back through the field to score third-place finish


Herndon, VA  — Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross extended its Championship lead with first- and third-place finishes this weekend at the second round of the Americas Rallycross Championship (ARX) season at Circuit of the Americas (COTA) in Austin, TX. Scott Speed completed a near-perfect weekend by claiming his first victory of the year ahead of his teammate, Tanner Foust, who earned a hard-fought third-place finish on Saturday afternoon.

Speed dominated the event from the outset, setting the fastest time in free practice before winning his first three qualifying heats. In the fourth and final qualifying round, contact with another competitor knocked the No. 41 Oberto Circle K Beetle Rallycross to the back of the field. The resulting fourth-place finish was the only blemish on Speed’s nearly-perfect day, and the reigning champion bounced back with a win in his Semifinal round before controlling the afternoon’s Final from the start, delivering his first victory of the season.   

"Getting the win this weekend is a great accomplishment for the Volkswagen Andretti team,” said Speed. “The track conditions changed throughout the day and I enjoyed the challenge of trying to find where the grip was. It is great to be back at COTA, and to be racing rallycross in America.”

Tanner Foust shadowed Speed for most of the day; securing second-place finishes from difficult outside grid positions in the first three qualifying rounds. In the fourth qualifying heat, Foust took advantage of his teammate’s troubles to earn a win, setting up a first-place starting position in his Semifinal. Victory for the No. 34 Rockstar Energy Drink Beetle Rallycross in Semifinal 2 granted the championship leader a second-place gird position for the Final. Taking the longer Joker on the first lap of the race put Foust at the rear of the field, but he raced hard to work his way forward, finishing in a hard-fought third position at the checkered flag.

“There was a lot of decision making in the first 100 feet of the track, and the only hope was that as many vehicles as possible would follow me into the Joker," explained Foust after the race. "Our strategy did not work in the end, and I had to work hard to get the third-place finish for the team. It was great to see all the new fans that came out in this Texas heat and I’m looking forward to coming back in September."

The results of the weekend place the Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross drivers at the top of the provisional championship standings—Scott Speed holds a one-point lead over teammate Foust. Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross will return to action next month north of the border in Trois-Rivières, Quebec, August 4-5. 

The ARX highlight broadcast show of the COTA round will air on CBS Sports Wednesday, July 18 at 8:00 PM (ET).


About Volkswagen of America, Inc.

Founded in 1955, Volkswagen of America, Inc., an operating unit of Volkswagen Group of America, Inc. (VWoA) is headquartered in Herndon, Virginia. It is a subsidiary of Volkswagen AG, headquartered in Wolfsburg, Germany. VWoA’s operations in the United States include research and development, parts and vehicle processing, parts distribution centers, sales, marketing and service offices, financial service centers, and its state-of-the-art manufacturing facility in Chattanooga, Tennessee. The Volkswagen Group is one of the world's largest producers of passenger cars and Europe's largest automaker. VWoA sells the Atlas, Beetle, Beetle Convertible, e-Golf, Golf, Golf Alltrack, Golf GTI, Golf R, Golf SportWagen, Jetta, Passat, Tiguan, and Tiguan Limited vehicles through more than 650 independent U.S. dealers. Visit Volkswagen of America online at or to learn more.

This press release and images of the Beetle Rallycross are available at Follow us @VWNews

About Andretti Autosport

Based in Indianapolis and led by racing legend Michael Andretti, Andretti Autosport boasts a wide racing portfolio rooted in tradition and designed for success.

Together with Andretti Formula E and Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross, Andretti Autosport fields multiple entries in the IndyCar Series and Indy Lights, along with entries in the FIA Formula E Championship and Americas Rallycross competition. Additionally, the team competes as Walkinshaw Andretti United in the Australian Supercars category through partnership with Walkinshaw Racing and United Autosports.

The global racing enterprise boasts four IndyCar Series championships (2004, 2005, 2007, 2012), two Indy Lights titles (2008, 2009), one Pro Mazda championship (2013) and one USF2000 championship (2010) and has captured victory five times at the famed Indianapolis 500-Mile Race (2005, 2007, 2014, 2016, 2017).